General election result in Whalley Range

Afzal Khan, seen here with Whalley Range Labour members and supporters, has been elected as our new Member of Parliament with an overwhelming majority. He says “There is no doubt that the country faces some difficult times ahead – problems which are entirely the making of the Conservative Party and Theresa May. With my fellow Labour MPs, under the leadership of Jeremy Corbyn, we will provide a strong Opposition and start preparing for a future Labour government. Thank you to everyone who supported me.”
The votes cast for each candidate here in Whalley Range (on a turnout of 76.4%) were:

KHAN, Mohammed Afzal Labour Party 6,298
JARADAT, Shaden Conservative Party 576
GALLOWAY, George Independent 400
PEARCEY, Jackie Liberal Democrats 341
MAYO, Jess Green Party 318
Others Various 34

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.